A Lesson Learned


Last night Mom and Dad went out.  Usually when they go out, my siblings and I have a “party.”  Often, this includes loud music, dinner, dessert, possibly a movie, and general fun and silliness.

While Meiling and I were listening to music in the kitchen, I decided that it would be fun to make something quick for a dessert.  I pulled up this recipe for Chocolate Coffee Mousse, and we made a double batch of it.  All my siblings like chocolate and coffee, so I was pretty sure that it would be a hit.

Well, it was supposed to be refrigerated until it was firm, but we couldn’t wait that long.  Once it had hit the 2-1/2 hour mark (this was at 9:25), we dug in.

And they were good.  Very good.  Meiling gobbled hers up, exclaiming how delicious it was.  Noah really liked it, too.  Drake said that it was a make-again.

My parents arrived home not long after that.  As Meiling was energetically climbing on my dad, he looked at me and asked,

“Was that coffee caffeinated?”

“Yes, it was.”

I hadn’t really considered the fact that we would be eating this treat rather late, and that eating 1/2 tablespoon of caffeinated coffee grounds per person probably wasn’t the greatest idea.

Yes.  A scant 1/2 tablespoon of coffee grounds per person.  My 6-year-old sister included.

Drake and I had a rather exciting game with our Star Wars trading cards.  More exciting than it has been in a while.  I think we were both being affected by the coffee.  (This could partially be due to the fact that I won.  This is probably my 3rd or 4th time to win, out of the last 30 times I’ve played with Drake.  Obviously I am not the best at strategy games.)

Thankfully no one had a hard time sleeping, or at least not that I’ve heard yet.  I was up a bit later that I wanted to be, but it wasn’t terrible.

Note to self: keep it to decaf coffee when it is getting late on a weekday night. Especially for the 6-year-old.

4 thoughts on “A Lesson Learned

Leave a comment