My First Wedding!


Well, hi there, everybody!

(Or at least to the two people that still check this blog. :))

If you haven’t noticed (cough cough) there has been a dearth of posts lately.

So I am going to try to remedy that.

Are you ready?

Good.  Glad you’re on board with me.

All two of you.

So then.

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of second shooting my first wedding.  It was my cousin’s wedding, and it was AWESOME!  Most of the time I focused on getting candid shots, not any of the formal shots, since the other photographer was getting them.  So that means that there are not that many “formal” shots to share with you all.  But I hope you enjoy the ones I do have!

_MG_2413

We helped with reception hall set-up before the ceremony

_MG_2419

They used these cool/weird water ball thingies.  They were great to photograph!

_MG_2494

Hello there!  Just affirming that I am here, cause you won’t see me a whole lot.  🙂

_MG_2506

My cousin and my grandparents

_MG_2508

Mother of the groom

_MG_2509

My aunt (mother of the bride) and two of my many awesome cousins!

_MG_2526

Junior bridesmaid (and another of my awesome cousins) Hannah

_MG_2536

Waiting

_MG_2555

 

_MG_2571

 

_MG_2573

 

_MG_2585

Exchange of vows

_MG_2607

 

_MG_2656

 

_MG_2664

I LOVE her face!  Isn’t she so sweet?!!

_MG_2703

Hannah and Meiling

_MG_2715

Between photos

_MG_2722

 

_MG_2767

Bouquet

_MG_2772

The flower girls – they were so cute!  You’ll be seeing more of them.

_MG_2783

My cousin Mark.  We had this thing going all day, where I was getting goofy photos of him.  I still need to finish the slideshow of funny photos.  It’s almost done!

_MG_2821

Bride, mother, and sister

_MG_2828

See? What did I tell you?  Cute or WHAT?!?

_MG_2838

The main photographer was having them make happy/fun faces.  As you can see, Hannah took to jumping up and down.

_MG_2841

 

_MG_2862

They left the church amid bubbles

_MG_2873

 

_MG_2880

*Happiness*

_MG_2915

Can you *tell* they’re sisters?

_MG_2940

My aunt (not the mother of the bride) makes a piñata for just about every family occasion.  The wedding was no exception!

_MG_2959

She even made a fancy bat.

_MG_2968

Scott egging on the crowd

_MG_2972

And that’s the end of that.

_MG_2979

Another tradition: the wearing of the piñata

_MG_2994

Fixing hair

_MG_3024

Almost everyone who had been there for the piñata (family and bridal party) had glow sticks.

_MG_3058

Mom, Grandma Jeane, and my aunt (the one that made the piñata)

_MG_3073

Centerpiece

_MG_3113

Greeting at the door

_MG_3127

 

_MG_3131

These two were so cute.  They started dancing, then were break dancing, and now are slow dancing.

_MG_3202

Cutting of the cake (see the glow stick bracelet?)

_MG_3205

 

_MG_3215

Head table (minus the bride and groom – hey, where did they go?)

_MG_3227

First dance

_MG_3235

 

_MG_3241

At the end of the first slow song, the music changed, and the bride and groom did a choreographed dance to several songs.  They danced for almost 10 minutes!  It was a total BLAST to watch!

_MG_3254

 

_MG_3259

 

_MG_3266

 

_MG_3272

 

_MG_3276

 

_MG_3277

They ended with a slow song

_MG_3281

Groom and mother

_MG_3292

Watching

_MG_3294

Bride and father

_MG_3308

Next they had all the couples come to the dance floor and dance.  The DJ then had couples leave the dance floor, by saying “Anyone married less than  ___ has to leave the dance floor.”  It was pretty awesome, because my grandparents were the last ones there.  All because of them.  🙂

_MG_3319

My parents

_MG_3343

When my grandparents were the only ones dancing, a bunch of us made a circle around them

_MG_3344

And then the dancing started

_MG_3348

Cousins

_MG_3358

Bridesmaids

_MG_3361

Scott and Sarah

_MG_3379

Us  🙂  (Thanks to my dad for grabbing this shot)

_MG_3385

The dollar dance – my dad and Sarah

_MG_3395

Noah and Sarah

_MG_3400

Drake and Sarah have always been special friends, since they share a birthday.  Drake used to hang out with her when he was little.

_MG_3404

 

 

And you want to see one of the goofy pictures?

_MG_3413

Too.  Much.  Wedding.

10 thoughts on “My First Wedding!

    1. Thanks! The last one is one of a set of three, where they are getting progressively closer to the table. In the last one, Drake and Mark are laying with their eyes closed on the table. 🙂

  1. Hi Allison! Long time no see! Just kidding, though in real life that’s true 🙂

    Great pictures! Love the bride and groom’s choreographed dance…that’s pretty cool. And it’s very ironic – my grandparents were the last ones on the dance floor too at a wedding I went to last year!

    1. No kidding! We need to get together some time.

      It was pretty great that my grandparents were the last ones. All because of them. And to see all the love that these people (including me!) have for them. Isn’t it great that we have the legacy of long marriages in our families?

      The choreographed dance was AWESOME. And it gave me a few ideas…:)

  2. I just love weddings, and you captured so many wonderful pictures of their special day. I only wish you’d taken a video of the bride and groom doing their choreographed dancing. How fun!

  3. You did such a wonderful job with these Allison! Are weddings something you are interested in continuing to do as a photographer?

    After doing a photo shoot and a video shoot I’m still decided whether or not I would want to continue doing them…

    1. Thanks! You know, this was my first wedding, and I’m not sure that I really was ready – I certainly didn’t feel ready! Lately I haven’t been doing as much photography, what with life, school, and work taking most of my time. So will I continue doing weddings? Not sure. I would want to get better as a photographer first. And not sure that I would want to be the main photographer – that seems stressful!

      BTW, what a fun photo shoot with you as Bilbo! Awesome job on the costume! (We saw the pics via FB.)

Leave a Reply

