Friendship Bracelets


Probably about 8 years ago, my parents gave me this book for a gift.  And I started making friendship bracelets.

And I made them like CRAZY.  I started working chronologically through the patterns, until the three hardest at the end (because they were based on the chevron, which had made me cry, or at least really frustrated).  So at least 7 bracelets.  Then I made maybe 5 more.

A few weeks ago I was going through my drawers, and I came across an old bracelet I had made, which I had come across awhile previously when cleaning, and stashed in my drawer to put on during summer.  I wouldn’t have put it on had I not found it cleaning my drawers (you never know what you are going to find when you clean out your drawers).  (Did that make any sense to anyone?)

So I pulled out the book to teach Meiling how to make them.  And I started a bracelet, too.

The chevron pattern.  To prove to myself I could do it.

Meiling didn’t seem to like it much.  But I continued to make bracelets.

I made one for me, one for my dog (one for me that I didn’t like so well), one for a friend, and now I am working on another for myself.

(And it turns out the chevron was a breeze.  Not sure what my problem was before. =))

_MG_1493

The two I am currently wearing:  The pink and green one is one I found it my drawer, and the other is the chevron I successfully made without tears.

_MG_1495

The one that I put on Lucy – this pattern is called “Rag Rug.”

_MG_1497

What do you think of your pretty necklace, Luc? Does it make you feel like part of the club?

_MG_1498

(I think she says “Not so much.”)

_MG_0736

The one I made for a friend  – this pattern is called “Totem Pole.”

_MG_1500

The one I am making now – the beaded chevron (these are not the beads I am going to be using – I need to get to the store and get some better ones.

8 thoughts on “Friendship Bracelets

    1. Thanks! Lucy didn’t mind too much, once it had been on a few minutes. It is also big enough to slip off her head if I need it to. I messed some part of it up when I was making it (never quite sure what I did do wrong) and I ended up not liking it a whole lot, so I thought putting it on her would be fun. Plus, I had planned to make her one eventually. 🙂

  1. Hey, I remember when you made me one of those . . . umpteen million years ago! That was really sweet of you. We’d probably just been friends for 3-4 years then??? Love you!

    1. Chain mail bracelets? Never heard of those. Now THAT sounds hard. I didn’t find these tedious at all – once you learn the pattern, it’s rather mindless, really. Something to keep your hands busy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

