Lately


I haven’t posted a good post lately.  I really feel like it’s been very “touch and go.”  No real substance.  Just a quick write-up with no real feeling, and then photos or a recipe.

So.  What have I been up to?

School.

Cooking.

Reading.

Placing our first Azure Standard order.

Using lots of coconut milk.

Eating chocolate.

Having fun with friends.

Ironing.

Poor little Lucy puppy has been scratching like crazy, poor thing.  And I had just given her flea medicine!  So we took her to the vet yesterday, and he put her on some medicine.  She seems to not be as itchy as she was, which makes me SO happy.  I really don’t like it when she doesn’t feel good.  My little puppy love.

The black flies/gnats have been bothering the chickens.  They buzz all around the chickens, and especially bother their faces, making it hard for the chickens to breathe.  If they get too bad, they can kill the chickens (we lost one a few years ago to them).

But there is an easy repellant: vanilla.  So today I mixed up some vanilla and water in a spray bottle and went out to spray the chickens. (Sometimes I think it’s like putting perfume on the chickens.  It is nice to have sweet-smelling chickens, though, so I try to dismiss that thought.  :))

At first I had the spray bottle on mist, but once the chickens found out what I was doing and decided that they didn’t like it, and then they started running.  So the mist no longer really worked.  Then I had a great idea:

Use stream.

This almost immediately made it more fun – it could be related to a first-person shooter game, but better, because it’s real.  It could be compared to a squirt gun fight – but better, because NO ONE SHOOTS BACK.  So I didn’t get wet.  And I wasn’t running that quickly (more fast-walking) behind that chickens to get close enough to squirt them.  It turns out that if you pursue the chickens for long enough, they just run into the coop.

Bonus round!

Now I have a whole bunch of chickens in a tight space to spray.  Talk about efficient!

School has been going really well.  I am loving it!  I thought that learning some of the more technical stuff (like anatomy and physiology) was going to be difficult, but I am not finding it that difficult at all.  The midwifery module that I am working on now is on caesarean sections and prevention. 

I just finished reading Joel Salatin’sFolks, This Ain’t Normal.”  I liked it.  It discussed how our culture, compared to history, really isn’t normal, from the food we eat to how we get entertainment.

I started working on the reading program from the library.  It’s been going pretty quickly, since I do so much reading, especially for school.  I am almost halfway done.

And I think that’s about it.

So what have you been doing?

6 thoughts on “Lately

  1. That’s interesting that vanilla repels the flies. Our dogs sometimes have trouble with flies biting their ears and noses in the summer (they’re outdoor dogs :-)) so I wonder if the vanilla spray would work on them, as well. How much do you approximately dilute the vanilla?

  2. Great post Allison! I didn’t know that flies/gnats bothered chickens. Or that vanilla helps.
    I’ve been recovering from the CHEC Conference. It was encouraging, fun, and… tiring. 🙂
    I’m also babysitting lil` N today.

  3. My dog has allergies in the summer and licks and itches like crazy. We have to give her Temaril-P every year and man, she’s expensive in the summer! But she’s worth it. She will lick herself bloody if we don’t medicate her. Very cool that the vanilla helps the chickens with the ghat problem! Your description of spraying them was hilarious. 🙂

    1. I’m glad you thought so! Spraying the chickens is probably one of the best jobs we get to do.

      This is the first year that Lucy’s had any trouble, but she was just biting and scratching way more than normal. We didn’t have any blood, though, thankfully! They put her on steroids, poor dear. 😦 But she is definitely doing better.

Leave a Reply

