On to D.C.


Next we went to D.C.  D.C.  was a whirlwind.  There is SO MUCH to see there.  Let me repeat:  THERE IS SO MUCH TO SEE IN D.C.  If you ever get the chance, go.  If you don’t, make a chance, then go.  It was wonderful.

Anyways, we arrived at our hotel on a Saturday night.  We were staying about 45 minutes outside of D.C., in Herndon, Virginia.  (Yay!  We were now in my home state!  For those of you who don’t know, I was born in VA.)  The next day (Sunday) we went to church, then we went in to D.C. “to see what we could see.”  We ended up walking around a good bit, then we went to The Smithsonian Museum of American History.  Mom and I went to the First Lady’s dresses exhibit.  So many gorgeous dresses!  The boys and Meiling went to the American President’s display while we were looking at the dresses.  Dad didn’t want to go through the First Ladies’ Dresses exhibit again.  (He had accompanied Mom through that exhibit years ago when they lived in VA.)  We took a break to get some refreshments, and then Dad, Drake, Noah, and I went back to the American History Museum, and Mom and Meiling went to the Smithsonian Castle.  Meiling wasn’t really enjoying the exhibits.  🙂 

The next day we spent walking around D.C., visiting several monuments and memorials, The Smithsonian Museum of Air and Space, and Bureau of Engraving and Printing.  Lots of walking.  I’m not sure if I had a favorite part from Monday.  It was all pretty great.

On Sunday we got Thai food from a restaurant a few minutes down the road from our hotel.  It was great!  We ate there twice.  Their fried rice, garlic chicken – I need to learn to cook like that.  Oh. My.  Mmm….it was SO good.  And so very different from Chinese, which is really amazing.  It looks similar, and Thailand is so close to China.  But it’s totally different.  In a totally delicious way.

Anyways.  Now for the photos.  I split D.C.  into two posts, because there is so much to cover.

_MG_9001

Going into D.C. – Drake, being Drake

_MG_9018

The Capital

_MG_9027

 

_MG_9042

(Ha ha.)

_MG_9008

The Jefferson Memorial

_MG_9036

Washington Monument

_MG_9049

The Smithsonian Museum of Natural History (I think)

_MG_9104

 

_MG_9123

The Smithsonian Castle

_MG_9117

The Capital

_MG_9080

One of the inscriptions on the front of The Smithsonian Museum of American History

_MG_9086

This exhibit was great!  I could have spent longer in there.  When I saw there was a food exhibit, I HAD to go see it!

_MG_9126

 

_MG_9139

Monday – the George Mason Monument

_MG_9145

 

_MG_9190

The Washington Monument – I LOVED photographing it.  And I took lots of photos of it.  So you’ll have to bear with me.

_MG_9194

The following photos:  The Jefferson Memorial

_MG_9205

 

_MG_9220

 

_MG_9210

 

_MG_9208

Meiling gave me a dandelion…

_MG_9209

…and I wore it in my hair for awhile.

_MG_9251

 

_MG_9282

At the Air and Space Museum

_MG_9287

(Read the caption in the photo)  Somebody has WAY more patience than I do.

_MG_9291

*Epic*

_MG_9298

Meimei…

_MG_9299

…and Noah

_MG_9301

Oh look!  The Washington Monument!

_MG_9309

The World War II Memorial, with the Lincoln Memorial in the background

_MG_9314

 

_MG_9321

On the Pacific side – I got a foot in my picture. 

_MG_9334

This has to be my second favorite photo that I took of the Washington Monument.

_MG_9337

Resting before going to the Bureau of Engraving and Printing – I’m not totally sure what’s happening in this photo

_MG_9338

Drake, being his normal self

_MG_9341

There!  A smile

_MG_9348

Pigeon

_MG_9375

We went out to Red Hot and Blue for dinner on Monday.  It was pretty good.

_MG_9355

Next time…

Leave a Reply

