I’m Still Alive


Yes, I am.  Although I am tempted to say just barely.  🙂

This weekend was our annual Men’s Advance.  And it went really well (at least from my view of things it did).  I helped it the kitchen, which was great, as usual.  But it is all very, very exhausting.

Very exhausting.

And on top of that, a cold is going around our church, and I could tell last week that, although I wasn’t sick yet, I was going to be soon.  So I did what I could to ward off that cold, but I had it on Monday.

It is appearing to be a real mean one.  As in it isn’t going to let off easy.

*Sigh*

Well, I had several wonderful grain free things over this weekend, and now I have been wanting to make them, as well as several other things that I have been wanting to make, but just haven’t gotten around to.  So, instead of making a mental list (which I am probably going to forget anyway, since my brain is out of it), I am going to make a list here.

(I know.  Another food list.  But bear with me.  It is hard not to be able to make any of these things, due to no energy, and the fact that I don’t want sugar while I am sick.  So hopefully this will help me let off some steam.)

1. Quiche or egg casserole.  Probably quiche, since it has crust.  I want crust.

2. Grain-free scones.  A dear friend of mine had these at their home when we were there for brunch, and THEY WERE AMAZING.  And I put butter on mine.  ‘Nuf said.

3.  Grain-free chocolate chip biscotti.  Again, another dear friend of mine made these, and I had them while at there home for brunch.  AND THEY WERE REALLY AMAZING.  And I need some again.  I think they had walnuts and raisins in them too.

4.  Grain-free biscuits.  I got a new recipe from a friend, and it is even better that the recipe I had tried.  I need something to slather some butter on.

5.  I need to make an apple crumble.  I tried to make walnut flour, but due to unforeseen circumstances, my walnuts never made flour.  Just a moist crumble-y thing that reminded me of a crumble. 

 

So that’s that.

What are you making/craving/hoping to make soon?

Do you have a cold?

10 thoughts on “I’m Still Alive

  1. You poor thing! I’m so sorry you succumbed to the cold. 😦 I am glad to report that I don’t have one, but today was the first day since the weekend I felt like I was back to my normal energy level–it is indeed exhausting to be on the kitchen crew, but I would do it all over again! Can’t wait ’til next year! 😀

    1. Oh, I know! It is definitely something I look forward to.

      You know what, we didn’t mark the coffee makers when we put them away, so we didn’t know which was broken. On Sunday, we brewed 40 cups in each, and they both worked fine. How’s that?

      Love your profile picture!

      1. Oh wow, that’s funny! I was slightly suspicious that the broken coffee maker wasn’t really broken! 🙂 Maybe it had something to do with the outlets malfunctioning since we were having so much trouble with that. Oh well… It’ll be interesting to see what happens next year…

  2. Dear, dear…Allison, you really need to stop getting sick! 😛 Seriously though, I’m sorry you aren’t feeling well–colds are no fun!

    As to your question…the only thing I’m craving is chocolate–that avacodo chocolate pudding you posted is SO good and we make it pretty regularly! I’m quite glad you posted that, thank-you! 🙂

    1. I’m glad to hear you enjoy that pudding! You can also use the same method to make a lime pudding (which I’ve done) or a pistachio pudding (I’ve never done).

      I know! I get sick alot. 🙂

  3. Oh dear! I am sorry that you are sick Allison!! I do hope that you get better!
    I am planning on making some chocolate fudge soon…I make mine with cocoa powder, honey, coconut oil, gelatain and a splash of milk. (If you make it with butter you don’t have to use the gelatain, but with the coconut oil it melts way to quickly) …Anyway, like you cared about all that 🙂 Thankfully I remain cold free so far in this “season of sickness”. My Dad and one of my sisters were sick, but I’ve esscaped!

    1. No ~ I love to hear what other people are making! I’ve made a similar fudge (coconut oil, cocoa powder, vanilla, honey, and instant coffee) and it was very well liked. 🙂

      I’m glad to hear that you haven’t gotten sick yet. I’m really hoping to be over this one soon.

Leave a Reply

