My Reading Nook and an Amazing “New Food”


I discovered an amazing “new food.”

It’s not totally new, since I am familiar with all the ingredients.  But the combination is new.

Are you ready?  Two words:

Stuffed Onions.

That says it all.

They are one of the most amazing things. Ever.  So simple and delicious.

I hadn’t really thought of onions as a side dish on their own until recently, when Mom was chatting with someone at the grocery store who would just serve sautéed onions with dinner, as a side.  I wanted to try that sometime – a big pile of onions.  Mmmm…

Then the other night I had some time, and I remembered the stuffed onion recipe that I had seen several years ago (I know, I know) in a cookbook I own, and I had to try it.

I altered the recipe a bit, since it originally called for bread, and I didn’t want to add any.  Well, really since I wanted to eat an onion.

They are SO TASTY.  The outside is a baked onion – cooked plain, not to talk it down – and the filling.  Oh the filling.  It is a combination of the centers of the onion that have been scraped out of the onions that have been sautéed, along with some bacon and cheese.  Delicious.

Stuffed Onions
Adapted from Fresh Flavor Fast (an AWESOME cookbook)

3 large onions (mine were very big), peeled
1/2 lb. bacon, cut into one-inch pieces
1/2-3/4 c. shredded cheese (I used Monterey Jack, which was very, very good)
1/2 c. chicken broth.

Preheat the oven to 400*F. (See note)

Using a melon baller,  hollow out the centers of the onions, until the sides are about 1/4-1/2 inch thick (I just hollowed mine until the cave in the middle looked sizeable).  Place the onions in a pan (I had to split mine into two pans – an 8×8-inch pan would work, as well as a 9×13-inch pan.  Whatever your onions fit comfortably in).  Pour the chicken broth in the pan (not inside the onions), and cover the pans with foil.  Bake for 25 minutes, or until the onions are soft when pierced with a paring knife.

Meanwhile, chop up the onion middles that have been scooped out.  Fry the bacon over medium heat until started to get crispy.  Add the onion, and sauté until soft, 10-15 minutes.  Drain off the fat.  Right before you stuff the onions, mix the cheese into the filling, reserving some to top the onions.

Pour the chicken broth out of the onion pans (reserve this, especially if it is bone broth!  It is now onion flavored).  Fill the onions with the filling, and top with cheese.  Bake at 450*F for 15 minutes, until the cheese is melted and browned.

Notes:  The original recipe had you bake the onions (before they are filled) at 450*F.  I baked two of my onions at 450*F, while I baked the other one at 400*F.  The one that I baked at 400*F had a much better color, and I liked how it came out more than the other two.  Either temp should work.

Next time I think I will stir some parsley flakes into the filling.  I was going to this time, but forgot. 🙂

 

On Thursday I cleaned up my room.  This wasn’t just a straighten-up-the-stuff clean up, but a real cleaning.  Going through drawers, and relocating accumulated junk stuff that has just been sitting around for WAY to long, and just needed to be put away.

(Really, there is a point to this.  Just bear with me.)

I cleaned out my vanity and moved it downstairs.  In the corner where it used to be I put a chair and a small table.  It is my new little reading nook! A comfortable spot to do my schoolwork.  Drake and I are sharing the chair, so I get it part of the week, and he gets it the rest of the time. I am really enjoying it!

_MG_7748

My cozy reading nook

 

Have a lovely Lord’s Day!

~Allison

4 thoughts on “My Reading Nook and an Amazing “New Food”

  1. That sounds AMAZING! I cannot wait to try it. Yes, definitely need to follow your blog on a regular basis.

    As for the grain-free cookies. We have a grain-free chocolate chip recipe that tastes as good, if not better than chocolate chip cookies made with grains. Also have an awesome peanut butter and jam cookie recipe that we made around Christmas that tasted just like peanut butter cookies with grains. I made some with jam – yum! and some with chocolate in the “thumbprint”, that tasted just like the “peanut butter kisses” cookies made with a chocolate kiss. Those are two recipes that won taste tests from everyone in our family.

    1. Can you please send the chocolate chip cookie recipe to me? I made peanut butter chocolate chip cookies the other day, and they turned out really well. (Now I want to go eat one.)

      Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Allison

  2. So nice to have a reading nook! Reminds me of the one I had many years ago and the chair was the rocker that your Grandmother made the new cushions for. Also recognized the table in the picture. That is surely an antique! The onion recipe sounds delicious.

    Love you lots, Gr. Jeane

    1. Yes, I do really like that table. It is the same color that the rest of my furniture is, and it is just the perfect size. I was going to use a TV table, but I’m so glad that Mom reminded me of that one!

      Love you,
      Allison

Leave a Reply

