Grinding Meat


I learned something.  But I need to back up and tell a little background first.

I love big earrings.  I have several pairs now, and really enjoy them.  Previously I had just been wearing my fun earrings when we left the house, but the past week or so I have started wearing them every day.

Now for what I learned.

Turtleneck sweaters and big earrings don’t mix well.

I put on a pair of long earrings, and was pulling them free from my turtleneck, when I finally figured this out.  It only took one and a half days, too.

But I have it figured it out now.

Anyways.

We have had a few cuts of meat from when we bought 1/2 a cow that haven’t been used yet, and Mom wanted me to grind them up and make ground beef with them.  So I did that yesterday.

I used round steaks, but I probably should have used something with more fat.  The ground beef was really lean.

But it was actually quite enjoyable, once Mom came and read the directions and told me to turn up the speed on the mixer (I didn’t really read the directions ;)).  It was quite neat.  I’m really glad that I was able to do it.

And I would do it again.

These photos are from grinding it the second time.

_MG_6735

After grinding the meat once

_MG_6743

See, you put the meat in here…

_MG_6759

…and it comes out here!

_MG_6736

The finished texture

 

By the way, starting yesterday, I will be posting one photo a week over at 6 Lenses!  The other photographs are lovely, so be sure to check it out!  (One photo is posted every day, except Sunday, a different photographer for each day.)

Leave a Reply

