Snow, and a Bit More


A synopsis of today.

It snowed today.  I love the snow.  It was also really windy.  I walked outside to the mailbox, and brought my camera.  Some fun self-portraits ensued!

I had about half of a can of coconut milk left over from making something for the get-together, so I decided to make some coffee ice cream.  I chopped up some chocolate chips and threw them in there, too.  Coffee chocolate chip!  Mmmm…

Yesterday I put Christmas lights up on Meiling’s and my bed.  It is really beginning to feel like Christmas, with the snow and the lights and the baking.

Well, I guess that is about it.

Oh, one more thing.

After we already had some snow accumulation, I wanted to plug in the Christmas lights on the back deck.  I was wearing my sandals (since I was inside), and I didn’t want to take them out into the snow.  I didn’t want to have to dry them off when I came back inside.  I considered going around, but I didn’t want to mess up the lovely snow (laugh at me, I know, but I like the snow).  So I just went barefoot.  I knew it would be cold, but I have done bare feet in the snow before.  As stepped into the snow, I started yelping.  Man, it was cold!  When I picked up the cord, it was covered with snow.  So I had to stand there, my feet in the snow, and shake, wipe, and blow the snow off the cord.  And my feet just kept getting colder.  I thought, “Man, now I know what the dogs feel like when they go out in the snow!  Their poor little pads!”  I opened the door to come inside, my feet were all wet, and I didn’t want to walk on the floor.  Since there were a bunch of people in the kitchen, I just started calling, “Somebody, bring me a towel!”  Mom answered, “No!  Why do you need a towel?  What are you doing?”  I used my apron.  And then she brought me a towel.  🙂

Moral of the story:  Get a towel before you go barefoot in the snow.  Or at least tell people what you are doing, so they will understand when you need a towel, and they will also understand the yelling.

Well, that would be the end of that!

And now for a picture:

_MG_6562

My grandparents had Noel on their fridge during Christmas.  The letters were all separate, and when we had our family Christmas get-together, a group of the cousins (including me) would rearrange the letters to spell “Leon.”  I am not sure if this name had particular significance, but it was fun.  🙂  Remember that?  I have these letters rearranged after this tradition.

Also, my grandparents had some plastic mistletoe that they would hang up in different spots.  Once they hung it from the fan upstairs, and once they hung it over the stairs heading into the basement (the basement was were the tree was, and were all the cousins played/hung out).  All the girl cousins would try to get other cousins tricked into walking under the mistletoe, so we would have to kiss them.  🙂 It was funny.

Fond memories.

Anyone else have any fun Christmas memories?

_MG_6525

Snow clouds gathering

_MG_6558

It’s really coming down

_MG_6527

Snow

_MG_6545

I purchased this hat last night.  I LOVE it!  Lots of fun.

_MG_6543

“I love the snow!  And my hat.”

_MG_6554

 

 

At dinner tonight:

Meiling, coughing, “We were smoking our bazookas!”

Say what?

(Not.  She has a cold.)

2 thoughts on “Snow, and a Bit More

  1. So nice to see your beautiful face & your cute hat! Thanks for sharing your memories. Of course Aunt Melinda also has LEON. He was no one special just my children messing around! Love, Gr. Jeane

Leave a Reply

