Oh My–This is SO GOOD (and fun!)


I made these AMAZING little things today.  They were wonderful.  Amazing. (Although I already said that.)  And I had a BLAST making them.  The caramel was my favorite part to make (especially since it was mostly dairy free – it just had butter, which could have been changed).  Dipping in chocolate is always fun.  But I have done that before.

Now that I have raved on and on, I am sure you are wondering what I made.

You’re not?

Oh.

Well.

I’ll just tell you anyways.

How’s that?

And you’ll pretend that you are excited?

Thanks.

I made Paleo/Primal Twisk bars!

Oops.  Did it again.  I mean Twix bars.

Isn’t it easy to say it the other way?  I also have an extended family member who used to say it that way (quite a while ago).  I was thinking of you today while I was making these. 🙂

I was so excited to try them once they were done.  And I wasn’t let down.  They were SO SO VERY GOOD.  I stood there on the rug in the kitchen and ate one.

While eating it, the chocolate melted and oozed all over my hands and my (already chocolate smeared – this always happens when I deal with melted chocolate) face.  I am somewhat tired, so I kind of zoned out.

Dad said I looked funny.

I think I did too.

O.K.  And now the pictures.

(Don’t drool.  Or at least try not to.)

_MG_4920

The unbaked cookie layer

_MG_4922

“I am ready to be baked!”

_MG_4927

Baked, and cooling

 

*WE INTERRUPT FOR A BREAKING NEWS ALERT*

_MG_4929

Mom bought the first bit of egg nog today.  Drake and I love egg nog, and we drink it together in the winter.  Sometimes while we are making dinner.  *Sigh*  I am SO looking forward to winter.  And I am enjoying the first tastes that are already here.

_MG_4931

I so need to make a paleo version of this.  This stuff is wonderful.  Even if it isn’t chocolate.

_MG_4932

Cheers!

 

*WE NOW RETURN TO OUR STORY*

_MG_4933

The caramel ingredients in the pan

_MG_4937

Lucy being her usual cute self.  She *actually* looked at me when I took her picture.  She usually won’t.

_MG_4942

Isn’t she JUST SO CUTE!!!!!  (My family hears this probably about 25 times a day.  Lucy hears it probably ten times that.)

_MG_4943

The caramel, now melted

_MG_4945

Swirlies!

_MG_4957

While waiting for the caramel to come to the proper temperature, I discovered that caramel drips are fun to photograph!

_MG_4960

*Drip*

_MG_4962

*Drip* *Sizzle* (As I am not paying attention and holding my whisk over the hot stove, the caramel drips are burning, instead of returning to the pan.  This has a most unique scent.)

_MG_4966

Now we are getting close

_MG_4969

Stir!  Don’t stop!

_MG_4973

Cooling in the pan

_MG_4974

After several hours in the fridge – cutting them up (actually not that difficult)

_MG_4976

Melting the chocolate

_MG_4983

Cooled, right out of the freezer

 

Are you ready for this?  You think so?  O.K.  Here it is:

_MG_4980

Yum.

_MG_4981

That’s all that I can say.

If you want the recipe, please leave me a comment below, and I will email it to you.

 

Now I am off to go clean the last residue of chocolate from the bridge of my nose.

 

~Allison

11 thoughts on “Oh My–This is SO GOOD (and fun!)

    1. They are sweetened with a mixture of coconut sugar and honey. And the chocolate is also sweet, but that would be with regular sugar.

      I’ll send you the recipe.

      ~A

    1. If you do a search using the words “Paleo [and then the dessert you want to make]” you should be able to find lots of recipes. I certainly have!

      I will send this recipe your way.

      ~A

  1. Of course I want the recipe you silly girl! Send it my way. Oh and just FYI I have a paleo recipe for eggnog but I much prefer it with cream rather than coconut milk. If you want to try it let me know! Love you sweet girl.
    Mrs. H

Leave a Reply

