Reformation Day Faire 2012


Last weekend was the Reformation Day Faire in Peoria, IL.  This was our second year, and it was very nice.  I especially enjoyed the dance that was on Saturday evening.

This year we rented a motor home, and stayed in that.  It was quite interesting.  Definitely very squishy.  It made for more comfortable traveling, I would have to say.  We also brought Lucy with.  Apparently she got out once while we were at the conference and ran around the church were it was held.  Mom had to chase her around and catch her.  I missed all this, and appeared right after she was caught.  Lucy really liked the motor home.  She was looking for it after we got home.

To give a brief synopsis:

Thursday Dad picked up the motor home and we packed it (this is also the day that I did these self portraits).

Friday we drove up to the Faire.  On the way, Dad surprised us with a copy of “The Avengers.”  I was so excited I started screaming.  😀  We watched that on the way up.  We made it there on Friday in time to hear one speaker.  The concert by the Wintons was that evening.

Saturday there were some talks in the morning, followed by the town square.  The boffer war was at 4:30, and dinner was at 5:30.  The dance was started at 7:30.

We stayed for church on Sunday morning, and left shortly after the fellowship meal.

And that’s that.

Here are some of the photos I took.  I didn’t take all that many during the conference, but I did take a bunch on the way home.  Why shooting through a dirty windshield while flying down a highway at 60 mph is fun I’m not quite sure, but it is.  🙂

Oh, and we also got to see the Wintons perform again!  I have the photos to prove it.  😛 I think this makes a total of 4 concerts in 8 days – 1 two Fridays ago, another the following Saturday, and then one this past Friday, and another this past Saturday.  I think we can definitely be called groupies.  🙂

_MG_4553

Getting packed on Thursday evening – Meiling being funny

_MG_4574

Friday – Lucy being her normal absolutely adorable self!

_MG_4566

My silly brother.  Just got to love him.

_MG_4569

Content passengers

_MG_4582

Relaxin’, and my view, in a way

_MG_4583

I worked on this post on the way up

_MG_4591

Lovely view

_MG_4612

[Does this need a caption?]

_MG_4617

Meiling playing and looking out the window

_MG_4627

 

_MG_4630

*Smile*

_MG_4644

Hey, look!  It’s the Wintons!

_MG_4650

Meiling enjoying the concert

_MG_4655

Saturday – walking to the park

_MG_4657

 

_MG_4660

An impromptu portrait session with two friends, Lily (pictured) and Josh (a fellow photographer) – see my Josh’s much better photographs here (and check out some of his other photos – he has some absolutely amazing ones of the Faire!).

_MG_4663

 

_MG_4674

 

_MG_4678

My friend Bethany  😀

_MG_4684

Sunday – on the way home, taking only too many pictures.  🙂

_MG_4690

Lu, sitting on my lap

_MG_4705

Self-portrait – these were so fun!

_MG_4708

Now doesn’t this look like I was standing all calm and serene on the edge of this pasture, instead of flying down the highway?

_MG_4710

“So away we go, down that forever road.”

_MG_4716

The cards I was using to play Solitaire before I hopped up front with Dad

_MG_4724

“Life is a highway…

_MG_4730

…I want to drive it all night long.”

_MG_4732

Bridges

_MG_4739

Crossing the river

_MG_4741

“…makes me want to take a back road.”

_MG_4745

Hi again!

_MG_4755

Lucy’s here!

_MG_4757

I love roads.  Oh, you could tell?  I wonder how you figured that out!

_MG_4759

I love the greens in this one

_MG_4786

This little blue car was so cute!

_MG_4817

I couldn’t believe it, but at the gas station we stopped at, they actually had A DARK CHOCOLATE MOCHA!!!!  I haven’t seen one of these since we went to Branson, and I have looked at several gas stations.  I am so glad I finally found one.  😛

_MG_4828

Meiling using her drink for a microphone

_MG_4835

 

_MG_4836

Bein’ silly

Leave a Reply

