Autumn Self-Portraits


Thursday was a beautiful day – in the morning the sun was out, but in the afternoon the clouds rolled in.  There was a brisk breeze and it was just a bit nippy.  The weather plainly said “Autumn.”

It was the perfect day for some self-portraits.  I headed out with my camera and got a few shots.  I only spent about 45 minutes out there, which, although it sounds like a lot, isn’t that long.  My first self-portrait shoot took about, oh, an hour, maybe a bit less.  My second self-portrait shoot took probably 2+ hours.  Which was very, very fun.

Anyways, there are not all that many different shots, so this post won’t be too terribly long (although I don’t need to tell you that, since you will find that out in a few seconds).

So, without further ado, here they are.

(Breaking news alert:  I just went and selected all my photos, and there will be more than I originally thought.  Many more.  Just thought you would like a heads up.)

 

_MG_4362

This spot is right in the front yard, and I could see it from the window.  It called my name all day, “Come.  You need to take some self-portraits right here.”  So I listened.

_MG_4367

Throwing leaves.  Yay!

_MG_4376

 

_MG_4381

 

_MG_4393

 

_MG_4397

1…2…3…

_MG_4403

…Throw!

_MG_4424

 

_MG_4432

I love this fence!  You may remember it from this picture.  This lovely tree has a few branches that bend over the fence.  This was another spot that was calling my name.

_MG_4443

 

_MG_4450

 

_MG_4451

Bare feet!

_MG_4472

At the edge of our property, standing on the road, looking up – the lovely orange and red of the maple and oak trees, respectively.

_MG_4474

See the leaves flying?  The wind was blowing quite briskly.

_MG_4478

I really like how these turned out.  I underexposed them some by accident, but I am quite happy with the resulting effect.

_MG_4484

 

_MG_4491

 

_MG_4502

I found this tree out in the woods behind our property.  Just a perfect place!

_MG_4513

 

_MG_4516

 

_MG_4523

I thought that it would be fun to jump.  I ended up only proving to myself that I can’t jump gracefully.  This is the only one that turned out.  All the others look extremely ridiculous.

_MG_4526

Just to prove the last point, here is an example of how the rest of my jumping shots turned out.  *Sigh*  Rather pathetic, and ridiculous.  But they made me giggle.  🙂

19 thoughts on “Autumn Self-Portraits

    1. Thanks! The outfit came together somewaht by accident! I was a little cold that morning, so I threw the short-sleeved sweater on top of my clothes. I spent some time the day before trying to find something that I could wear that little sweater with, but couldn’t figure it out. Well, the problem practically solved itself the next day. 🙂

      1. Me too! Kt did give you a hug from me didn’t she? I told her to 😀

        I’m guessing this weekend will make up for it though…Savannah and I are going to a reenactment (undercover, as I like to say) to shoot footage for my documentary. We’re attending in period dress even though we aren’t really reenactors and we will be staying with a reenacting group. I’m terribly excited!

        1. I can’t say for sure that she did…although she may have and I just don’t remember (don’t take it personally – I have been doing that somewhat frequently).

          Have fun this weekend! Remind me – what is your documentary on again? I hope that you get the shots you need!

          ~A

    1. Thank you, Gloria! I also really enjoyed the Fall colors. If you can believe it, the trees are almost completely bare now. I had this feeling that if I didn’t take the pictures that day, I wouldn’t get them. It seems I was right! The color show seems to be just about done.

      ~A

Leave a Reply

