Strawberry Limeade


This past Saturday Mom and I went shopping in town.  Our first stop was a little produce/spice shop.  I was excited to find a bag of sixteen limes marked down to $1.49!  They were at the end of their life, but still usable.  But they would need to be used soon.  Reminded of a recipe I had just seen the other day, I told Mom that I would make limeade when we got home (a perfect accompaniment to our burgers!).

Now I have never made limeade, and I can’t say that I’ve ever had real limeade.  I was pretty sure that it would be good, since we love limes, and we love lemonade.  I was so excited!

When we arrived home, I juiced the limes and ended up with 2 cups of lime juice.  I decided to use my lemonade recipe, and substitute lime juice for the lemon juice.  Here are the portions:

Limeade
2 c. fresh-squeezed lime juice
2 c. sugar (I used evaporated can juice crystals)
4 c. warm water
8 c. cold water

Combine the sugar and warm water, and stir until the sugar is dissolved.  Add the cold water and lime juice. Enjoy!

 

I really liked it.  So did everyone else. 🙂 I thought it was a little on the sweet side, so next time I will probably use a bit less sugar.  But that is just personal taste.  Nobody complained. 🙂

While we were at the store, Mom had talked about getting some cherries so make cherry limeade, but I don’t think they had any.  I’m not totally sure, but we didn’t get any.  And we didn’t have any at home.  But we did have some strawberries.  Mom said that she was going to make strawberry limeade.  I am not a huge fan of strawberry lemonade, so I wasn’t all that excited.

Mom mashed up some strawberries and put them in her limeade, and said it was really good.  So I tried it.  IT IS SO GOOD!  I was quite surprised.  It is definitely way better that strawberry lemonade.  I think I am going to try to make a sorbet that is strawberry limeade flavored.  Yes, it was that good.

Limeade now ranks right up there with lemonade, in my book.  🙂

_MG_3584

It’s really good by itself

_MG_3586

But if you take a strawberry, mash it up…

_MG_3606

…and mix it into your limeade, it makes it even better!

_MG_3610

Leave a Reply

