Of Family, Fun, and (Slightly Less) Exhaustion


Sorry it has taken me this long to get a post about the rest of our trip up!  We’ve been busy.  Really busy.   Doing a bunch of things that will become later posts.  Really.

Anyways.

On Monday we said (a rather sad) goodbye to the L. family, and headed to the airport to get Dad (he went to a different conference over the weekend).  But first, we stopped at a Polish deli.

Actually, we stopped and got gas at a gas station first.

But that isn’t all that important.

Unless it’s in real life, and you forget to get gas, and you run out of gas, and are left on the side of the road.

Enough of that.

So we stopped at a Polish deli.  This was the deli that my grandparents would go to to pick up delicious lunch meats.  We purchased some bologna (which is nothing like the stuff you get at your regular grocery store), the garlic sausage that my dad always liked, another white sausage (made with veal), and some German ham.  That ham was delicious.  It was sliced paper thin.  Mmmm….

We also picked up some chocolates (tiramisu filled), some buns (the kind that my grandmother always had and would make me little open-faced sandwiches with butter and bologna on – sniff), and some Prince Polos. Prince Polos are a wafer and chocolate bar.  We got the extra extra large size, since they were 2 for $1.  They are probably about 9” long.

Then we were on our way to the airport to get Dad.  I took a bunch of photos of my toes on the way.  You’ll see them later.

After getting Dad, we headed to my aunt and uncle’s home.  They weren’t home when we arrived, so we unpacked and just chilled.

When my aunt got home, we all went over to the tennis courts to – you guessed it – play tennis.  I had a great time taking pictures, and even hit a few balls there at the end (I think one actually made it over the net!).

That evening we went over to my cousin’s apartment to see her and her new apartment.  We all went out to dinner to a favorite German restaurant, Schnitzel Platz.  We used to go to The Platz every time we went up north, but it has been several years since we’ve been there.  It was just as wonderful as I remember (pictures of all the food to follow).

The next day my grandparents came over to my aunt’s home, and we just visited and played games until the early afternoon.

In the afternoon we drove up to my other aunt and uncle’s home for dinner.  My cousin had just passed her boards, so we went up to celebrate!  Again, we did a lot of visiting and had a simple dinner – pizza.  After dinner we went to the park.  We almost always played at this park when we went to their home. 🙂  It was so nice to see them, but, as always, it could have been longer.

On Wednesday we went out to breakfast with my grandparents and my aunt and two of my cousins.  After breakfast, we went back to my aunt’s home to pack. Before hitting the road, we went over to my grandparents’ condo.  We chatted and played another game of Rummikub (my grandma and I love this game, and we always try to play it when we go up there.  Last time we didn’t get to play, so I was glad that we got a game in this time).

Then we headed home.

And that’s that.

Our trip, in a nutshell.

_MG_2817

Look!  Cute toes!

_MG_2818

Aren’t they just adorable?!

_MG_2825

I love ‘em.

_MG_2833

The skyline

_MG_2845

Chillin’

_MG_2852

Drake, with a mouthful of Tic-tacs

_MG_2857

Playing tennis

_MG_2868

Love this

_MG_2874

Look!  Cute toes!

_MG_2896

Tennis

_MG_2897

Drake

_MG_2912

Wow!  They are cute!

_MG_2924

Noah playing tennis

_MG_2929

My Cuteness

_MG_2938

 

_MG_2950

 

_MG_2958

Wow!  Just lovin’ them!

_MG_2961

 

_MG_2964

 

_MG_2973

Blue sky

_MG_2977

AHHHH!  UFO  landing!  (Just kidding.  It’s the sun.)

_MG_2985

At Schnitzel Platz:  The pretzel bread

_MG_2995

The salad – a marinated bean salad, marinated beets, a cole slaw type salad, and marinated carrots

_MG_2996

Root beer (NOT mine)

_MG_2999

The Rahm Schnitzel (Schnitzel in a cream gravy)

_MG_3003

They brought each of us our own, personal extra gravy boat.  Yum.

_MG_3005

Chocolate Lover’s Cake (actually, this is Mom’s and my cousin Sarah’s piece.  Noah and I ate ours before I got a picture.)

_MG_3010

See?  It’s all gone!

_MG_3015

Tuesday: Swinging

_MG_3019

Playing ladder ball

_MG_3034

I love panning

_MG_3048

Cousins in the hammock

_MG_3054

Bologna

_MG_3067

A lovely sunset

_MG_3072

Playing tag at the park

_MG_3092

David, being it (I think), strikes a contemplative pose.

_MG_3101

RUN!

_MG_3103

 

_MG_3120

Isn’t he funny?

_MG_3134

The uncles join in

_MG_3137

David’s it (that’s why everybody’s running)

_MG_3157

Balancing act

_MG_3161

Wednesday – coloring while waiting for breakfast

_MG_3168

Look what kind of coffee creamer they had – White Chocolate Mocha!

_MG_3172

Cousins

2 thoughts on “Of Family, Fun, and (Slightly Less) Exhaustion

Leave a Reply

