Of a Conference, Friends, Fellowship, and Exhaustion


Last Friday Mom and us children drove up North to attend the conference “By Every Word,” a conference about the importance of the law of God.  We had left in the morning so that we could make it, not just to the conference on time, but to our friends’ home.  They were making dinner for us.  We would be spending 3 days with them, and I could hardly wait.  Last time we spent time with them, we had so much fun.  That time we still were getting to know them (well, aren’t you still getting to know any of your friends when you spend time with them? we knew the L.’s, but not that well).  To tell you the truth, I couldn’t even remember Kristen’s name.  No joke.  I haven’t forgotten it since (except in those way-over-exhausted moments throughout the weekend).  This time we new them pretty well.  And Melissa, another good friend of ours, was also staying with them.  I knew we were going to have so much fun.

We arrived a bit after 5, which was later than we had wanted to.  We were still in time for dinner, and had plenty of time to get to the conference.  After dinner (and some talking of course – there would be a ton of that over the weekend) we drove to the hotel, where the conference was being held.

Dr. Morecraft’s talk was really good.  He spoke on how all laws are religious, and how we can’t be neutral.

(Insert funny story here:  I paused typing here to go take care of the laundry.  When I was finished, Noah was downstairs.  I thought he looked a little glum.  So I asked him what was the matter.  He said nothing.  Despite the fact that he said he wasn’t unhappy, I still thought that he needed some cheering up.  So I started singing the “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” song.  That’s when Mom appeared on the stairs.

“Don’t you know that the insurance guys are here?”

Great.  No one told me.  I didn’t even know that they were coming.  So here I am (in full earshot) singing “Don’t Worry, Be Happy.”

Just as I was getting the guts up to go upstairs (and act like I hadn’t been singing “Don’t Worry Be Happy” in the basement), I decided to go up the back stairs and enter the upstairs through the garage.  A better way to disassociate myself with the singing.  Then, as I enter the house, I recognize one of the insurance agents.  Great.  No way to disassociate myself now.)

Back to the story: Once we came back to the L.’s house, we all didn’t go to bed like a bunch of good little children.  Who would?  Really?  The party was just getting started!

After some more eating (and Melissa broke out her chocolate covered espresso beans – mmm, where they good!) we migrated over to the family room.  We now spent the remainder of the evening – and some of the morning – talking.

The next day there were 5 talks plus a Q&A session.  Since the hotel had coffee, Laura and I brought hot chocolate packages to make mochas.  And we did.  And they were good.  And they helped us stay awake.

The conference was done by dinner time.  We went back to the L.’s home for dinner with them and another family that we are good friends with.  We then proceeded to stay up very late again, despite our previous late night, early morning, and the early morning tomorrow.  Fun, fun, fun.

Sunday, after church, was the fellowship meal.  I really enjoyed getting some more time to chat with all our friends around the lunch table, and then again after lunch.  We went and sat under the gazebo, where there was shade and a lovely breeze was stirring.  It felt like a lovely spring day.

We left the park at 6:30, and went over to my mom’s cousin’s home for a surprise visit.  We did give her quite a surprise, and she and mom had a nice time talking.

When we got back to the L.’s home, we broke out the leftovers again, since it we were hungry. 🙂  Next, I got the grand tour of Kristen’s closet, just as she had promised.  Then Melissa painted Kristen’s toes and my toes.  Mine are an adorable red that is so absolutely cute.  I am in love with it (if you haven’t guessed that yet).  I am going to have to buy it.  There are no pictures of them now, but don’t worry.  There will be plenty in the next post.  I even did a photo shoot of my toes in the car. 🙂

Since we left the L.’s on Monday morning, this seems like an opportune moment to pause this narrative.  It will be resumed in a later post.

_MG_2750

Friday night – Laura, a fellow photographer

_MG_2758

Dr. Morecraft

_MG_2765

My cute pen

_MG_2771

Saturday Morning – Dr. Carlsen

_MG_2789

Saturday evening – Aren’t Kristen’s shoes and skirt just so cute!?

_MG_2790

Feet 🙂

_MG_2792

Kristen – the lighting was amazing

6 thoughts on “Of a Conference, Friends, Fellowship, and Exhaustion

  1. Hurray!! Post about our splendid weekend together!! 😀 I’m loving the mention our hotel mochas got, and the photo of our feet (with my toering).

    It better not be long before next time, ’cause I don’t like missing people.

    1. I almost put the cute picture of you while we were listening to Dr. Morecraft (the one I got a glare for taking), but I decided that it wouldn’t be a good one to post.

      You are welcome any time!

      ~A

Leave a Reply

