Food, Rethought


On July 1st, I went primal.

If this gives you a picture of me in a cave, this is not at all what I did.

First of all, I can’t live without air conditioning.

Or without flushing toilets.  Definitely.

Primal is a diet.  It basically is meat, vegetables, and good fat, with some fruit.  You don’t eat any grains, sugar, processed foods, or bad fats. 

As of yet, it has been very interesting.  I have been doing pretty well.  Tonight Dad and I went out for dinner, and I had the first grains that I’ve had since Saturday.  I have been able to avoid grains and most sugar other than that.  I am going to be trying some different recipes, especially in the dessert category.  Something fun that I have already tried are Larabars.  I didn’t think that I was going to like them at all, since they have dates in them, but I was pleasantly surprised.  They were quite good!

This new diet will definitely change how I am cooking – no more grains and no more sugar means that I won’t be making the same desserts that I have been making.  We have purchased some coconut sugar (the guidelines for the diet say coconut in any way, shape or form!), we already have coconut flour, and I am hoping to get my hands on some almond flour soon.  Then I’ll start making all kinds of interesting desserts.  I am also going to get some coconut milk without many additives (I think it has a total of 2 ingredients) so I can make some coconut milk ice cream, such as this and this.  Don’t they look AMAZING?!?!?

You may be wondering why I decided to go primal.  One reason is because I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired.

Another reason is that I am hoping this will help me heal enough that I can have dairy again.  There are just so many delicious dairy things I want to be able to eat.  Custard.  Yogurt.  Kefir.  Ice cream.  Crème Brulee.  Do I need to list any more?

So be looking for some new and slightly different things here.  More grain-free.  More almond flour.  More coconut milk.

Are you primal (or on the GAPS diet)?  Do you have any websites that you would recommend with great recipes?

Happy Fourth of July!  What are you doing tomorrow?  As far as I know, we are going to be relaxing.

Love,
Allison

3 thoughts on “Food, Rethought

  1. GAPS diet! That’s my family 🙂 My mom has a website called Basic Gaps. Check it out!http://basicgaps.wordpress.com/ (Sorry, not many desserts on here 😉 )

    Happy Independence Day to you, too! Savannah and I are throwing a party for our church people and a few relatives. Food, music, dancing, FUN! I have to get busy with the last minute stuff here. Most importantly, I have to get the bit in Snip’s mouth–he’s going to be part of the festivites, though he has no idea of it 🙂

  2. I hope that you had a great Independence day! We didn’t do anything much….we watched our annual movie “The Patriot” and grilled chicken in the 105 degree weather…I made a Colonial vest…

    Don’t forget about the food amongst all those deserts!! 😉
    GAPS is good…I think, but it isn’t too much different than how we ate anyway…

    ~~KT~~

Leave a Reply

