Some More Cooking


Today I tried an Everyday Food recipe for Slow-Cooker Sausage Lasagna.  Basically, it was a meat/tomato mixture layered with cheese and pasta in a slow cooker, then set on low for a few hours.  It was pretty easy, it turned out well, and everybody liked it.  Next time I will probably throw in some spinach leaves some more canned tomatoes, but that would have to be my only adjustment.

I also made a single serving size of fresh-squeezed lemonade.  I do this when a sweet drink craving hits, and I really don’t want to (or can’t) make a large batch of lemonade.  I just squeeze a lemon, see how much juice I get, and add the rest of the ingredients accordingly.  Today’s batch looked something like this:

Scant 1/4 c. sugar (I used evaporated cane juice), to taste
1/2 c. warm water (for dissolving the sugar)
1/4 c. fresh-squeezed lemon juice (from one lemon)
1 c. cold water

Combine the first two ingredients, then stir until the sugar is dissolved.  Add the last two ingredients.  Enjoy on the front porch, sitting in the white rocking chairs.

While I was enjoying my lemonade on the porch, Meiling came up.  As the cows were across the street for us, I explained to her the use of the “earrings” they had.  She had spotted them, and wasn’t sure why all the cows had “earrings.”

Well, that about covers today.  I am so excited – on Thursday I am going to a friend’s home to make soap! Yay!!!!! I am so excited! (You can tell that by all the exclamation points, can’t you?)  I have been wanting to learn how to make soap for awhile.  Now I will know how and will hopefully be able to make plenty of fun soaps at home.  I can’t wait!  Oh, I am planning to get to her house a little early so I can help milk her goats.  I love milking goats.

I will possibly post some pictures of that day, but will definitely post photos of the soap.  (I will be very excited.)

Love,
Allison

One thought on “Some More Cooking

  1. Hi Allison,

    It was great seeing you today! Tell your mom “thank you” again for me, will you please?

    That’s great that you get to make soap! I’m sure that the lady you are talking about is a mutual friend of ours, right? Gab also took a soap making “class” from her to 🙂

    Also, I forgot to mention to you in person, that the recipe that I use (for bread) is the Master Recipe. Occasionally I’ll use something else, but that is what a generally use.

    See you next week!

    In Christ,
    Caitlin

Leave a Reply

