In the Kitchen


Today Mom and the boys had many places to go.  Meiling and I stayed home.  After a few games this morning, we decided to cook up some yum in the kitchen.

When I received this book for my birthday, I wanted to try the soda recipe.  Today we made the Blueberry Lemon Soda.  It was very easy, although we won’t know how it turned out for a few days.  The soda needs to sit for a few days to carbonate.

After you make the syrup, there is a blueberry mixture left over.  The author suggests that you don’t throw it away, but make jam or a pie with it.  We decided to do the latter.  I pulled out my blueberry pie recipe, and we followed it as closely as we could.  The pie was pretty good.  Dad didn’t like it as much as the last time I made it, but it was still yummy.

For dinner, I am making Pioneer Woman’s Tequila Lime Chicken and her Mexican Rice, with beans and salad on the side.  Everything turned out wonderfully.  The rice was a bit spicy, though, and a little undercooked.  Still good, and definitely edible.  🙂

While I made dinner, Meiling set up a restaurant and was serving food.  She made a dish for her patrons she titles “mish-mash,” and looks like noodles. Hmm.  Not sure I want to try it.

_MG_0244 

The berry/sugar/water mixture, ready to cook – when I set this on the stove, Meiling looked at it and declared, ”That looks like chili powder!”

_MG_0246

My little helper

_MG_0252

The blueberry lemon syrup, ready to be made into soda

_MG_0256

Meiling, with the syrup and soda in the foreground

_MG_0267

For the pies, I needed to grate a green apple and squeeze all the juice out of it.  I put a little bit of sugar in it, heated it gently on the stove to melt the sugar,  and gave it to Meiling.  (When I put the juice on the stove , she informed me I was taming the sugar.)

_MG_0268

She said it was good, but a little sour.

_MG_0273

The pie filling

_MG_0275

Mexican rice!

_MG_0280

Lucy, doing what she does best – being cute!

_MG_0283

Meiling taking orders at her restaurant

_MG_0287

Her table

_MG_0288

Serving her imaginary customers

_MG_0291

Yes, that is mish-mash

_MG_0301

The chef in the kitchen

_MG_0311

My dinner with Mom’s margarita

_MG_0315

Note the black diamonds on the chicken.  The recipe says to do that, but I only accomplished it on one side of one piece of chicken (out of 8 pieces of chicken).

_MG_0325

Dad’s much prettier plate (his chicken doesn’t have the black diamonds, though).

7 thoughts on “In the Kitchen

  1. Sounds like you had a delightful day with your little sis!

    . . . by the way, I JUST GOT MY NEW LENS TODAY!!!! 🙂 We ended up purchasing it at the camera store in St. Charles. SO EXCITED!

  2. I like your little helper’s haircut!
    I think that I wouldn’t mind trying that ‘mish-mash’, if only to satisfy my interest!
    -Gloria

    1. We got her hair cut recently, and we though it would be nice and cool for summer. Thanks!
      I told Meiling that you wouldn’t mind trying mish-mash, and she laughed and said, “It’s some kind of baby food I made up.”

      ~Allison

Leave a Reply

