Things Have Been a Little Quiet Around Here…


I haven’t been posting here as much as usual!  That’s not because there is any lack of things to post about – quite to the the contrary.  The comparative quiet is because of the many things that have been happening.  When it rains, it pours.

On Monday we had an open house birthday party for a young lady at our church.  For the party I baked two chocolate cakes (one small pan and one 9” x 13” pan) and a mocha cake.  Have you ever had mocha cake?  It was yummy.  I frosted the mocha cake with mocha frosting (what else, right?).  Mmmmm…

Tuesday was spent cleaning up and relaxing.  I made a Chinese dinner (a total of 97 dumplings!).  Right after dinner I came down with the cold that my brothers have both had.  Right after dinner.  I felt fine all day, and as I was sitting there, my throat started to hurt.  I took my elderberry syrup and Echinacea tincture and drank some ginger tea, but by the time I went to bed my throat hurt quite a bit.  I can’t believe how fast it came on!

I had a doctor’s appointment on Wednesday morning, and as soon as I got home from that I went to bed and spent the majority of the day in bed.  Something interesting that happened – Mom called while I was home (she was at the food pantry) to let me know that some of our pastor’s family was coming by to pick up some things for our pastor’s graduation party this weekend (he’s a Dr. now!).  They were planning to get to our home around 11:00 a.m.  Well, at five till, I heard a rumble of a car coming down our gravel road.  I was surprised that they would be here already.  I looked out my window to see a blue fifteen passenger van with a white stripe drive by.  It wasn’t them – it was somebody who was lost.  This wouldn’t be all that interesting, except for the fact that our pastor’s family has a white fifteen passenger with a blue stripe.  I got a giggle out of that.

Today I worked on making some unleavened bread, a project that my dad assigned to me.  I’m still sick, so I did quite a bit of resting.  Today my brother Noah fell asleep eating lunch.  This is not normal, since he is 14.  Meiling came in my room while I was resting and told me he was asleep.  I came out a little worried, but after some shaking he woke up and proved to be fine.  Just tired.  We all had some quite time this afternoon.

Tomorrow I have to bake 4 apple pies for Pastor’s party.  Saturday is Pastor’s party, as well as two other graduation parties.  It will be a busy day.   I hope to be well by then. Lord willing I will post some photos next week.

Also, since I will not be home for most of Saturday, I will probably not post the giveaway winner until Monday.  We’ll see how it goes.  If you haven’t entered yet, go here to enter the giveaway!

Until next time,
Allison

7 thoughts on “Things Have Been a Little Quiet Around Here…

  1. Poor dear…sick with all that going on! I hope you feel better!

    Hurray! Pastor S. is now a Doctor! I hadn’t heard yet…somewhat suprising; but maybe that’s because Dr. T. just got back from vacation.

    Love you,
    Racheal

  2. I hope that you will soon feel better Allison!!
    Congratulations to Dr. S!! I hope that ya’ll have a great day of rejoicing and happiness!
    Love, KT

Leave a Reply

