Kitchen Herbs


This past Saturday we went to a very cute farm-themed baby shower.  For favors and place cards they used little flower pots and buckets filled with goodies.  Now that I had a flower pot, I needed to plant something in it.

So I started thinking.  A flower would be nice, but you can’t eat it.  The flower’s purpose would be just to look pretty.  Not that there is anything bad about that.  I just usually like to plant plants that produce something that we use.

When we were starting seeds for our garden, I decided that I would try to grow some cilantro and parsley, since we use those herbs often and a whole bunch from the store can be too much.  It would be so nice to have some cilantro here in the kitchen, since that doesn’t do all too well out in the heat.  I started some thyme seeds in a bag a few weeks ago and the little plantlets needed to be planted.  I decided to plant cilantro in two of the pots and thyme in the third.

I really wanted to get them planted today, but it was already getting late.  While I was making cookies, I decided it was the perfect time to plant.  The recipe has you mix the butter, eggs, and sugar together for 30 seconds, then let the mixture sit for 3 minutes, and you have to repeat this process for a total of 3 times (this makes for a most delicious dough).  During those three minutes, I would hurry outside to work on my plants.  I had to work on them some more after the cookies were done, but it didn’t take all that long and I was very satisfied with the result.

_MG_8858

My inspiration

_MG_8872

Filled with dirt

_MG_8878

My cute watering can – it was found in a thrift store

_MG_8884

All planted, except the top one – I still need to put a cilantro seed in it

_MG_8891

Extra thyme plantlets that I need to do something with.  I’m not sure what that something is.

_MG_8908

A gooey chocolate chip cookie (yes, that is chocolate smeared on the counter, and no, I didn’t lick it off)

5 thoughts on “Kitchen Herbs

  1. Hi Allison!
    How cute! That’s a great idea (both planting herbs and the party favors).

    Did you know there are some flowers that are edible? We just found that out, and we plan on planting an entire “edible flower” garden! Wouldn’t that be an interesting dish to bring to church…a flower salad!
    Anyways, I hope you’re having a good week!
    In Christ,
    Caitlin

Leave a Reply

