The Creek


Next to our home runs a private road.  Part of it has gravel, but the majority of it is just a mix of rocks, dirt, and plants.  The trees grow over it, so most of the way is shaded.  The wildflowers are blooming next to it.  After about a ten or fifteen minute walk down this road, you reach the creek.

When you first reach the creek, you walk out under the open sky into full sun.  On the right the creek is shallow and shaded with tall trees arching over it, giving the water underneath a dappled look.  On the left there are lots of rocks, with the creek getting narrower and deeper, with trees hanging over it from the farther bank.

We walked down to the creek this past Sunday.  I took my camera (surprise, surprise).  We also brought our black lab Shadow, who loves to swim.  Noah and Meiling played fetch with her, and Dad threw the ball occasionally.  I took pictures of the whole thing.

Here are some of the photos.  I was quite unhappy as there were all these lovely wildflowers and I hadn’t brought my macro lens, since I was trying to reduce baggage. 🙂

_MG_8156

 

_MG_8166

The road to the creek

_MG_8172

This looks fairytale-like to me

_MG_8188

To the right

_MG_8194

I love water, ripples…

_MG_8197

…and sun sparkles!

_MG_8206

 

_MG_8211

Throwing the ball for the dog

_MG_8222

Playing in the water

_MG_8239

I found this plant interesting

_MG_8256

Sloshin’ around

_MG_8272

To the left

_MG_8293

When you get wet, you have to shake all that water off.

_MG_8294

Sometimes your lips look weird.

_MG_8295

But it always feels good

_MG_8296

Oh yeah

_MG_8303

Noah

_MG_8308

This is going to be a new tradition – a lens cap picture wherever I go

_MG_8350

More dog shaking off pictures – sorry, they’re just so fun

_MG_8351

That feels good.

_MG_8355

Just lovin’ those yellow boots

_MG_8393

Foot pictures…also very fun

_MG_8395

 

_MG_8407

Flowers without a macro lens

_MG_8424

I like how this one turned out

_MG_8443

Where we took a little stroll – an even older road

So what did you do for Resurrection Sunday?  We didn’t do a whole lot.  Since some of us have been sick, we stayed home from church so not to infect everyone.  Nothing to fancy – we went to the creek, read Bible, played badminton, and had dinner.  Do you have a Resurrection Sunday tradition?

Happy Friday!

~Allison

7 thoughts on “The Creek

  1. Allison, I LOVE the pics of your Lab shaking!! They make me smile because we have a yellow Lab and a black Lab and we’ve gotten funny pictures of their lips doing weird things, too. 🙂 They are so cute!
    We traveled up to Appleton, WI on Ressurection Day to visit family.

  2. Hmmm, I know of a fictional dog named Shadow…I think that is a great name for a black lab…I like Labradors a lot, especially the black ones. Lovely pictures, it looks like you live in a beautiful area…Most of us went to church Resurrection Sunday, minus one, but directly after the service we had to hurry down to the hospital due to Grandpa being not well, however that’s not a story to expound on here…I guess if you’ve been reading Racheal’s blog you’re probably up-to-date.
    By the way, have you seen my blog? Not much there as of yet…

  3. I believe that ‘interesting plant’ is sourdock…sure is a nuisence in the garden and rhubarb patch 🙂 They are interesting looking though, I’ll admit.

    1. I found it interesting that it was growing in the water! 🙂 I can’t say that I’ve seen one in our garden, but it does look like it would be difficult to pull.
      ~A

Leave a Reply

