Miscellaneous


There have been a few things recently that have been getting me excited.  As none of them are long enough for there own post, I am going to post them all together.  How does that sound?  O.K.?

Well, last week we purchased half of a grass fed cow.  Our friends had an extra half, and they offered it to us.  I am so glad that we got some grass fed meat.  There were a lot of steaks and roasts.  Now I have to read Tender Grassfed Meat, which my mom bought awhile ago, and we’ll be all ready to go!  We also got some more lard, so I can make some more pies.  Mmmmm!

Some friends of ours dropped off our herb order from Mountain Rose Herbs this week!  So far, I have already made more Echinacea tincture and Elderberry syrup.  This should help us feel better, because Mom, Dad, and I have all been sick.  I am getting better, but my parents are still feeling pretty yucky.  I also purchased some essential oils from Mountain Rose Herbs, and was very pleased to find out that they are therapeutic grade oils!  And plus, it is always fun to get more smelly oils.  🙂

You know that book I have posted about several times, titled Jam it, Pickle it, Cure it?  Well, the author wrote another one, titled Can it, Bottle it, Smoke it!  I AM SO EXCITED!  That didn’t convey all the excitement.  I AM SO SO VERY EXCITED!!!!!!  O.K., that was better.  I am hoping to get it here soon.

A bunch of our trees bloomed!  So did the tulips!  And the azalea bush!  And the rosebush did, too!  Since I have been sick, I have been unable to take many pictures, but I am hoping to get some today.

Well, I think that is all for now.  Thanks for listening to my ramblings.  It was good to get all that pent-up excitement out.  (I’ve used forms of the word excitement lots in this post, haven’t I?)

_MG_6796

A tulip that bloomed

_MG_6837

It was raining ever so lightly while I was taking pictures.  The sun was out, too!

2 thoughts on “Miscellaneous

  1. Hi Allison!
    How exciting about getting grass-fed beef! We’re about to get a 1/4 too. I highly recommend Tender Grassfed Meat. We’ve tried a couple recipes from it and totally loved them. I especially recommend their recipe for meatloaf. It does cook longer (like waaayyy longer) than the books says, but it is really good. We’ve tweaked the meatloaf recipe a little and used it for meatballs and hamburgers and it works really well. Same great taste, too!

    You’ll have to let me borrow that new book sometime! It sounds really good!
    In Christ,
    Caitlin

Leave a Reply

