A Walk in the Woods


Across the road from our house is our neighbor’s pasture, and on the other side of the pasture are the woods.  The woods are very lovely – there is a little creek running through them, and not many people go back there, so it has an untouched feel.  We went back there for the first time two years or so ago, and we never made it back, until now.

Yesterday my brother and I went for a walk in those woods.  We had talked about going back for a walk/photography outing, and it took us 2 years to finally go.  He came to me a couple times yesterday to ask me about going, but I didn’t think that it would be able to happen yesterday.  It turned out well, and we were able to go out for 45 minutes.  It was very nice.  Everything is looking green again, and the flowers are blooming.  We are hoping to go back sometime soon when there are more leaves on the trees.

_MG_5860

An old, mossy log

_MG_5867

_MG_5883

Isn’t the veining on this leaf so interesting?

_MG_5928

The little creek – I am hoping that we can go back when it is a bit fuller

_MG_5946

Some violets are starting to bloom!

_MG_5953

There are all kinds of lovely places like this – wouldn’t it be fun to have a picnic under these trees?

_MG_5966

“Look, Ma, no hands!” My fun-loving brother

_MG_5970

Can you see the little trail?

_MG_5988

There was a patch of these flowers.  Some were in the shade…

_MG_6006

…and some were in the sun

_MG_6030

Redbuds

_MG_6055

Nutmeg found us about 15 minutes or so into our little jaunt, and he followed us until we left the pasture

_MG_6104

My brother, who carried my other lens in the bag, and was so sweet about my constant dropping to my knees and saying,”O.K., I need the other lens.”

_MG_6113

Another good place for a picnic

_MG_6131

As we were leaving, I saw this rock jutting out over the creek.  I’ll have to spend more time the next time we go for a walk photographing it.

_MG_6137

I love how the sun is shining on these things

_MG_6142

Little flowers hiding in the grass

_MG_6168

Running…

_MG_6177

…and grazing

_MG_6186

“Hi there!”

5 thoughts on “A Walk in the Woods

  1. Lovely pictures taken by a lovely lady!
    It does look like a wonderful place to wander around….
    (P.S. That was me that left a comment under the name “basicgaps”…it was an accident, but that’s the only name it would let me use! Some WordPress specifications I think…)

Leave a Reply

