Through Him Who Strengthens Me


About three years ago we started using Foxe’s Book of Martyrs with our history curriculum.  It was one of those books I would get lost in – read some, do the assigned reading, and read some more.  After reading all those stories of the cruel torture and deaths, I began pondering, “If I was to be persecuted for my faith, would I hold fast?”

Thinking about suffering torture and death often made me shutter, and I hoped that I would stand fast.  I am a bit of a wimp when it comes to pain, though, and I was afraid that I wouldn’t hold fast.

This past Sunday at church, our pastor mentioned Philippians 4:13 in his sermon, and said that Christ would strengthen us in persecution (and more).

I memorized this verse years ago, but when I was thinking about persecution, it never occurred to me that this verse applied to that, too.  So if I were to be persecuted, even tortured, I wouldn’t have to be worried about standing fast – His grace would be sufficient for each moment.

So whether being persecuted or just dealing with those little daily trials, he strengthens us through it all.

“I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”

-Philippians 3:14

2 thoughts on “Through Him Who Strengthens Me

Leave a Reply

