The Books on my Bookshelf


I haven’t posted about my books for a while, so, being the booklover that I am, I decided that it was time to write about them.

Here is a run-down of a few of the books on my bookshelf:

I am not reading all of these books right now.  I haven’t even started all of them.  Some (Confessions and P.I.G. to the Civil War)  I started a while ago and need to finish them.  I’m sure you know what I’m talking about – too many books. too little time.

The one I’m really focusing on reading now is Slow Death by Rubber Duck.  It is about dangerous chemicals in everyday things.  So far the authors have discussed brominated flame retardants, perflourinated compounds (Teflon), and phthalates.  I’m currently in the chapter about mercury.  It is a really good book, and the writing style keeps you interested.

Are you reading anything interesting right now?

6 thoughts on “The Books on my Bookshelf

  1. Two actually–The War Between the States: America’s Uncivil War
    and: Invincible Louisa (about Louisa May Alcott). I supose I could throw in ‘The Sovereignty of God’ by A.W. Pink (reading that for college).

    By the way, ‘The Politically Correct Guide to the Civil War’ is pretty good. I really enjoyed it.

    1. We have The War Between the States: America’s Uncivil War, but I haven’t read it yet. Are you enjoying it? We have Invincible Louisa, also, and I’ve read it. I found it interesting.

      I also like The P.I.G to the Civil War, but all the biographies in the end were getting a little long for me. I am still hoping to finish it.

      ~A

  2. Yes I am enjoying it–I haven’t read any of it in quite a while though…I don’t read as much as I should/would like too.

    The Bio’s were too long? Hmm, I don’t remember thinking that they were extremely extensive.

    Racheal

  3. The Civil War book sounds good. I need to learn more about that war.
    Like you, I’m reading many, many books =P But I’ll name a few.

    I’m reading a 14th century poem (Sir Gawain and the Green Knight)
    The Elements of Style
    The Little Gold Grammar Book
    The Art of Fiction
    The Count of Monte Cristo (I get a few minutes a week to dive into it 😉
    And I’m also reading bits of A.W. Pink’s The Sovereignty of God for a speach I’m writing.

    I love talking books =))

    And I’m looking forward to seeing you all this weekend, Allison!!

  4. I just finnished ‘Institutes of the Christian Religion’ by John Calvin today! (I read it for school.) I am also reading Little Woman by Louisa May Alcott (though I haven’t read any of that for a while!).
    ~~KT

Leave a Reply

