Sewing


Lately I’ve been sewing.  I’ve had this project all lined up for awhile, but I finally just pulled it out and really started working on it.

I am making a medieval dress loosely based on Susan’s Coronation Gown from the Chronicles of Narnia: the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.  You can see a picture of it here.

The body of my dress is going to be an off-white crushed velvet, and the bottom part of the sleeves is going to be a light periwinkle blue shantung.  It is going to have those big, sweeping sleeves, which I am so excited about.

I have all the pieces cut out, except the interfacing because I didn’t have enough.  I am glad that the cutting is all done.  Now I can get to the sewing!

IMG_8507

This is the view I’m making – the pattern is McCall’s 4491

IMG_8503

What my dress currently looks like

IMG_8498

The fabrics up close

One thought on “Sewing

  1. That is soo amazing! I loved Susan’s dress when I first saw it. And big, sweeping sleeves… ah! Beautiful! I have one dress (which I didn’t make) that has the sleeves. I was very happy.

Leave a Reply

